Routines

Before I came to France, my morning routine seldom varied.  Drag myself out of bed, try to convince myself that daily stretches do little to halt the onset of decrepit old age, do them anyway–most days– make coffee and read the New York Times with KPCC playing in the background.

Saturdays were pretty much the same, Sundays the same but with Meet the Press or This Week With George Stephanopoulos blaring in the background. Love those political shows unless its Ann Coulter or anyone from the NRA.

These days, I drag myself out of bed, albeit a bit later than I did in California, try to convince myself that daily stretches do little to halt the onset of decrepit old age, do them anyway–most days– and make coffee. Although I’d still prefer to start my day with the New York Times, I feel guilty for not working on my French so now I read, or try to, the Nouvel Observateur with France Culture playing in the background.

I think I probably had a better understanding of world events from reading the New York Times and listening to KPCC. No fault of Le Nouvel Obs, as it is called here, rather that my French hasn’t progressed beyond understanding a dozen or so words in each issue. I probably understand about the same number on France Culture.

Like the American media Le Nouvel Obs and France Culture devote quite a bit of coverage to gay marriage. In that context, I kept hearing what I thought was the name, Brigitte Bardot. It was several days before I realized that the speaker was saying Frigid Barjot. A drag queen, I thought from the picture. In fact Frigid Barjot is the stage name of a right wing female French humorist who campaigns against same sex marriage.

Oh yeah, Sundays. Since I don’t have a TV here, there’s no Meet the Press. A quite acceptable alternative, I’ve discovered is the France Culture broadcast of Sunday Mass. Really. I can’t say I feel like a better person for it, but probably better than I did watching John Boehner dissemble to David Gregory.

My evening routine here in France hasn’t changed appreciably. If I’ve had a bad writing day, I console myself with a glass of wine. If I’ve had a good writing day, I reward myself with a glass of wine.

IMG_5453

Leave a Reply

