Quelle direction?

ImageEven as I write this, I’m not entirely sure what direction it will take.  Humor? There’s plenty of that.  A few weeks ago, I posted a Facebook picture of water-filled baggies that I’d pinned to my door frame; each contained a few pennies. I’d read (thanks Marion) that this kept away flies.  It did, kind of.  The bags also had the village all atwitter.  My French is limited enough that no-one asked me directly, but everyone was curious.  Julie heard  the theories, then relayed them to me.  They ranged from an art project to a device to ward off evil spells.  I told her to spread the rumor that each bag represented notches in my bed post.
A poignant post?  The church bell struck at an odd hour the other day. Usually the bells chime on the hour and half hour.  I later learned that an elderly man who lived up the road had died.  Outside his house was a small table provided by the funeral home with a book in which neighbors could write their condolences. Although the village seems a close knit place to me, people lead busy lives. The open book outside the front door, I was told, is often the first public announcement that someone has died.

My last couple of posts have been, perhaps, a bit negative so my thought this time was to create something more upbeat. But, as I write this, I’m feeling ever so slightly melancholy. Really nothing more than I ever felt back in the States, just a vague bluesy feeling. But melancholy here in the land of cheap wine and good bread and cheese? A bit ungrateful, non? Where’s the joie de vivre? Shouldn’t excitement and discovery color everything? Well, yes and no. Some days do seem that way; nothing escapes my attention. Buying eggs is adventure. Other days, not so much. I miss the familiar. I tire of not being able to express myself. I . . . OK, here’s the direction after all. I think I’m feeling ever so slightly homesick.

But here’s the silver lining. The cavalry is arriving! In two weeks, the charge of visitors from the States (led by Marilla; Kit, back in May, was the advance party ) bringing themselves . . . and emergency supplies of taco seasoning, peanut butter and Aleve. I can’t wait!

By La vie en France Tagged

One comment on “Quelle direction?

  1. I recently returned from Michigan with 2 large jars of Jif Peanut Butter, 2 envelopes of taco seasoning and dried blueberries from home. I was unable to bring the Hudsonville Ice Cream.

Leave a Reply

